

# alaska judicial council

510 L Street, Suite 450, Anchorage, Alaska 99501-1295 (907) 279-2526 FAX (907) 276-5046 http://www.ajc.state.ak.us E-mail: postmaster@ajc.state.ak.us

#### **Press Release**

Contact: Susanne DiPietro, Executive Director Alaska Judicial Council 510 L St., Suite 450 Anchorage, AK 99501 (907) 279-2526 sdipietro@ajc.state.ak.us www.ajc.state.ak.us For immediate release April 27, 2022

### **Alaska Judicial Council**

Public Hearing about Judges on the Ballot in November Wednesday, May 4, 2022 4:30 p.m.

As required by State law, the Alaska Judicial Council is evaluating the judges who are eligible to be on the ballot this November. On Wednesday, May 4, 2022 at 4:30 p.m. the Council will hold a statewide public hearing to solicit comments about these judges (see list below). Members of the public are invited to participate by Zoom videoconference with meeting ID 896 4016 9536 and passcode 662415 or by calling 833-548-0276 with meeting ID 896 4016 9536 and passcode 662415 from 4:30 to 6:00 p.m. They may also write to the Council at the address above or send an e-mail. The Council is interested to hear about the judges' legal ability, fairness, diligence, integrity, temperament, and overall performance. The Council will vote on its retention recommendations on May 12, 2022.

#### Judges on the Ballot in 2022

#### **Appellate Courts**

Bethany Harbison Court of Appeals

**First Judicial District** 

Amy Gurton Mead Juneau Superior Court
Jude Pate Sitka Superior Court
Daniel Schally Juneau Superior Court
Kirsten Swanson Juneau District Court

## No judge from the Second Judicial District will stand for retention in 2022

#### **Third Judicial District**

Palmer Superior Court John C. Cagle Catherine M. Easter **Anchorage Superior Court Anchorage Superior Court** Una Sonia Gandbhir **Anchorage Superior Court** Josie Garton Jason Gist Kenai Superior Court Lance Joanis Kenai Superior Court Kari Kristiansen Palmer Superior Court **Anchorage Superior Court** Erin B. Marston **Anchorage Superior Court** Thomas A. Matthews **Anchorage Superior Court** Andrew Peterson Peter Ramgren **Anchorage Superior Court Anchorage Superior Court** Kevin M. Saxby Kristen C. Stohler Palmer Superior Court Stephen B. Wallace **Kodiak Superior Court** Jo-Ann M. Chung **Anchorage District Court** Brian K. Clark **Anchorage District Court** Martin C. Fallon Kenai District Court Tom V. Jamgochian Palmer District Court **Anchorage District Court** David A. Nesbett Palmer District Court Shawn Traini

#### **Fourth Judicial District**

Brent Bennett Fairbanks Superior Court
Terrence Haas Bethel Superior Court
Earl Peterson Fairbanks Superior Court
Thomas Temple Fairbanks Superior Court
Ben Seekins Fairbanks District Court