

# alaska judicial council

1029 W. Third Avenue, Suite 201, Anchorage, Alaska 99501-1969 http://www.ajc.state.ak.us

(907) 279-2526 FAX (907) 276-5046 E-mail: postmaster@ajc.state.ak.us

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Larry Cohn

NON-ATTORNEY MEMBERS Eleanor Andrews Bill Gordon Gigi Pilcher

> ATTORNEY MEMBERS Douglas Baily Robert B. Groseclose Susan Orlansky

> > CHAIR, EX OFFICIO Alexander O. Bryner Chief Justice Supreme Court

## <u>M E M O R A N D U M</u>

**TO:** Alaska Judicial Council

**FROM:** Susie Mason Dosik

**DATE:** April 21, 2004

**RE:** Retention Judges' Non-Confidential Salary Warrant Information

The Council requested information from the Alaska Court System about how many times the retention justices' and judges' paychecks were withheld for failure to issue decisions within six months. See AS 22.05.140(b), 22.07.090(b), 22.10.190(b), and 22.15.220(c). What follows is a statement for each judge for his or her appropriate term of office.

#### **Superior Court (past 3-6 years):**

Judge Morgan Christen:

None.

Judge Beverly Cutler:

None.

Judge Sharon L. Gleason:

None.

#### <u>Judge Michael I. Jeffery</u>:

Judge Jeffery had his pay withheld six times in the past six years for failure to file an affidavit stating that he had no decisions pending for over six months. In each of those six instances he was paid less than 30 days later.

### Judge Stephanie E. Joannides:

Judge Joannides has had her pay withheld for failure to file an affidavit stating that she had no decisions pending longer than six months three times in the past six years - all of which occurred since her appointment to the superior court in 2000. In each instance she was paid less than 30 days later.

Judge Mark Rindner:

None.

Judge Trevor Stephens:

None.

Judge Niesje J. Steinkruger:

None.

#### **District Court (past 2-4 years):**

Judge Raymond Funk:

None.

Judge Nancy J. Nolan:

None.