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Chart # 3 - CHARACTERISTICS OF PARDON AUTHORITIES 
Note: The information in this chart is summarized in charts in Chapter 7 (“Models for the Administration of the Pardon Power,” and “Pardoning Practices in the States.”) In states 

where pardoning is characterized as “frequent and regular,” there is a regular pardon process with a high percentage of applications granted (30% or more); where pardoning is 

“sparing,” there is a regular process but a low grant rate; where pardons are infrequent, uneven, or rare, the chart will generally indicate numbers.     

State Type Of Administration Type Of Process 
Eligibility 

Requirements 
Effect 

Frequency of 

Grants 

Alternative 

Restoration  

AL Independent board appointed by 

governor exercises pardon power, 

except governor has authority in 

capital cases. 

Ala. Const. amend. 38 (amending 

Art. V § 124); Ala. Code §§ 15-22-20 

through 15-22-40.  The board must 

make a full annual report to the 

governor. § 15-22-24(b). 

Public hearings at regular 

intervals; 30 days’ notice must 

be given to the attorney 

general, prosecutor, sentencing 

judge, chief of police and the 

county sheriff, and the victim. 

Ala. Code § 15-22-23l. Each 

board member gives reasons 

for vote.  Process takes about 

one year. 

Following completion 

of sentence, incl. fine, 

no pending charges, or 

after 3 years 

“permanent parole” 

unless pardon sought 

for actual innocence. 

Ala. Code § 15-22-

36(c). Federal and out-

of-state offenders 

eligible. 

Only as specified in 

grant (full pardons 

rare); predicate 

unless expressly 

provided. Ala. Code 

§ 15-22-36. 

Frequent and 

Regular: More than 

500 pardons granted 

annually; 2000+ 

restoration of rights. 

None. 

AK Governor decides, parole board must 

be consulted but advice not binding. 

Alaska Const. art. III, § 21; Alaska 

Stat. § 33.20.080. 

No formal regulations, no 

public hearing. Parole board 

staff investigates, consults with 

DA and court, prepares 

confidential recommendation 

to governor. Alaska Stat. § 

33.20.080. 

Parole board staff must 

find a person eligible to 

apply on merits. 

Conviction set aside 

may not serve as 

predicate or be used 

by licensing board.  

Rare: Only three 

pardons since 1995. 

Judicial set aside after 

deferred sentencing. 

Alaska Stat. § 

12.55.085 et seq. 

AZ Governor decides, may not act 

without affirmative clemency board 

recommendation. Ariz. Const. art. V, 

§ 5; Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 31-402(A). 

Governor must publish reasons for 

each grant, and report regularly to 

legislature. Ariz. Rev. Stat. §§ 31-

445, -446. 

Board meets monthly; must 

publish application, hold public 

hearing, publish 

recommendation to governor 

with reasons. Ariz. Rev. Stat. 

§§ 31-401, 31-402. 

Any Arizona felony 

offender. Ariz. Rev. 

Stat. § 31-402. 

Pardon relieves 

legal consequences, 

but conviction must 

still be reported and 

is given predicate 

effect. 68 Ariz. Op. 

Att’y Gen. 17. 

Infrequent:  Pardons 

increasingly rare 

since 1990; Gov. 

Brewer has issued no 

pardons. 

Judicial set-aside for 

non-serious offenders; 

court restores firearms. 

Ariz. Rev. Stat. §§ 13-

905 through 13-907. 



Margaret Colgate Love, NACDL Restoration of Rights Resource Project, November 2014 

 

 

AR Governor decides, parole board 

must be consulted but advice not 

binding. Ark. Const. art. VI, § 18; 

Ark. Code Ann. § 16-93-204(a). 

Governor must report to legislature 

on all grants with reasons.  Ark. 

Const. art. VI, § 18. 

No public hearing. Parole board 

must give 30 days’ prior notice 

of favorable recommendation, 

and governor must give 30 days’ 

public notice (including 

statement of reasons) to 

prosecutor and victim. Ark. Code 

Ann. §§ 5-4-607(d)(1);16-93-

204(c)(1); 16-93-207(a).  

No restrictions. 

Federal and out-of-

state offenders are 

eligible to apply. Ark. 

Const. art. VI, § 18; 

Ark. Code Ann. § 16-

93-204. 

Relieves legal 

disabilities, grounds 

for expungement in 

most cases; firearms 

separately restored.  

No predicate or 

enhancement. Ark. 

Code Ann. §§ 16-93-

301 to 16-93-303.  

Frequent and 

Regular: About 100 

grants each year, 

300-500 applications 

annually. 

Sealing for first 

offenders and 

probationers. Ark. 

Code Ann. § 16-93-

1201 

et seq.; § 5-4-311. 

CA 

 

Governor decides, parole board may 

be consulted. For recidivists, board 

must be consulted, majority of 

supreme justices must recommend.. 

Cal. Const. art. V, § 8; Cal. Penal §§ 

4800, 4812-4813, 4852.16. 

Governor report grants to 

legislature, including facts and 

reasons for grants. Cal. Const. art. 

V, § 8; Cal. Penal § 4852.16. 

No provision for public hearing.  

Certificate of rehabilitation from 

court (PD representation), or 

direct application to board if 

non-resident or misdemeanant. 

Cal. Penal Code § 4852 et seq. 

10 years after 

completion of 

sentence. 

Described as “an 

honor,” restores civil 

rights and removes 

occupational bars, but 

no expungement; 

guns separately 

restored.  Maybe 

used as predicate. 

Cal. Penal Code §§ 

4852.15, 4853. 

Frequent and 

regular: Very few 

pardons between 

1990 and 2011, but    

Jerry Brown has 

granted 399 pardons 

through December 

April 2014.  

Set-aside for 

probationers; 

certificate of relief. 

Cal. Penal Code § 

1203.4(a). 

CO Governor decides (“subject to such 

regulation as may be prescribed by 

law relative to the manner of 

applying”). Colo. Const. art. IV, § 7.  

Non-statutory advisory scheme; 

Governor sends legislature “a 

transcript of the petition, all 

proceedings, and the reasons for his 

action.” Colo. Const. art. IV, § 7. 

No hearing, governor as a matter 

of policy seeks views of 

corrections authorities, DA and 

judge. Colo. Rev. Stat. §§ 16-17-

101; 16-17-102. 

 

No eligibility 

restrictions. 

Restores civil rights 

and firearms privileges, 

assists with licensing 

and employment, 

recognizes meritorious 

achievement and 

rewards exceptional 

citizenship.  

  

Infrequent: Pardons 

infrequent since 

1990s, although 

Governor Bill Ritter 

issued almost 30 

pardons at the end of 

his term. 

Drug convictions 

may be sealed after 

waiting periods from 

3 to 10 yrs.  Colo. 

Rev. Stat. § 24-72-

308.6.    
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State Type Of Administration Type Of Process 
Eligibility 

Requirements 
Effect 

Frequency of 

Grants 

Alternative 

Restoration  

CT Independent board appointed by 

governor exercises pardon power. 

Conn. Gen. Stat. § 54-124a(f). 

Public hearings at regular 

intervals at which applicant 

must be present, with reasons 

for denial given.  Board may 

dispense with hearing in 

certain classes of cases.  

Process takes about one year. 

Conn. Gen. Stat. § 54-

124a(e)–(k). 

5 years following 

completion of 

sentence; 

misdemeanants may 

apply.  Provisional 

pardon may be 

sought any time after 

sentencing. Conn. 

Gen. Stat. § 54-

130e(b). 

Relieves all legal 

disabilities, court may 

“erase” conviction; 

“erased;” may be 

predicate unless records 

destroyed. Provisional 

pardon relieves one or 

more “barriers and 

forfeitures.” Conn. Gen. 

Stat. § 54-142a(d). 

Frequent and 

Regular: About 400 

pardon grants 

annually, including 

provisional pardons 

(about 30% of 

applicants get 

hearing, most of 

those granted); more 

than half to 

misdemeanants. 

None; law prohibits 

discrimination in 

licensing and 

employment. Conn. 

Gen. Stat. § 46a-80. 

DE Governor decides, may not act 

without affirmative clemency 

board recommendation. Del. Const. 

art. VII, § 1.  Governor must report 

periodically to legislature. Id. 

Pardon board, chaired by 

lieutenant governor, public 

hearings at regular intervals, 

recommendations and reasons 

announced. Favorable 

recommendations sent to 

governor. Process takes about 

six months. Del. Const. art. 

VII; Del. Code. Ann. tit.11, § 

4362. 

3-5 years following 

completion of 

sentence, absent 

hardship; 

misdemeanants may 

apply. 

Relieves disabilities ex. 

constitutional prohibition 

against holding state 

office or employment. 

May be used as predicate 

and to enhance 

subsequent sentence. Del. 

Code. Ann. tit. 11, § 

4364. 

Frequent and 

Regular: Over 200 

pardons annually in 

recent years, (about 

75% of applications 

received are granted).  

Applications have 

tripled since 2005. 

Expungement for 

deferred adjudication 

and diversion, 

pardoned 

misdemeanor 

convictions. Del. 

Code Ann. tit. 

11, §§ 4371-4375. 

DC President decides under a non-

statutory advisory scheme.  U.S. 

Const. art II, § 2. 

Informal process described in 

28 C.F.R. Part 1 and United 

States Attorneys Manual. No 

time limit, and applications 

may remain pending for years. 

5 years after sentence 

or release from 

confinement. 28 

C.F.R. Part 1. 

Relieves legal disabilities 

and signifies 

rehabilitation and good 

character. May be used as 

predicate. 1995 WL 

861618 (1995). 

Rare: Only a handful 

of DC offenders have 

been pardoned by the 

president since 1980. 

Expungement of 

minor D.C. Code 

offenses. D.C. Code 

§ 16-801 et seq. 
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FL Governor decides with 

concurrence of two cabinet 

officials. The governor and 

three cabinet officials act as 

pardon board. Fla. Const. art. 

IV, §8 (a); Fla. Stat. ch. 940.01, 

940.05. Governor reports to 

legislature each restoration and 

pardon. Id. at 940.01. 

Public hearing for pardon, and 

for restoration of rights for many 

offenders (offenses specified in 

clemency rules).  Hearings are 

held on a quarterly basis, DA 

and victims notified. Separate 

process for firearms restoration. 

Eligibility immediately 

following completion 

of sentence. Out-of-

state and federal 

offenders eligible for 

ROR but not pardon 

(R. 9D). 

ROR restores vote and 

other basic civil rights. 

(R. 4F). .Pardon 

“unconditionally releases 

the person from 

punishment and forgives 

guilt.” Id. Restores 

firearms rights. Id. at 4A. 

May be used as 

predicate.  

 

Sparing:  20-40 pardon 

grants annually between 

2006 and 2010; 20-30 

firearms restoration 

grants annually (about 

half of applications). 

Restorations of rights 

number in thousands. 

Sealing and 

expungement for 

misdemeanors and 

minor felonies. Fla. 

Stat. ch. 

943.0585(1)(b)(1); 

943.0585. Deferred 

adjudication. Fla. 

Stat. ch. 948.01(2). 

GA Independent board appointed 

by governor exercises pardon 

power. Ga. Const. art. IV, § 2, 

para. II. Board must report 

annually to legislature, the 

Attorney General and the 

Governor.  Ga. Code Ann. § 

42-9-19. 

Paper review, no public hearing. 

Board decides cases by majority 

vote, and in a written opinion.  

Ga. Code Ann. §§ 42-9-42(a) 

and (b); 42-9-43. 

 

5 years following 

discharge; out-of state 

offenses eligible for 

restoration of rights 

but not pardon. Drug 

and violent offenses 

ineligible to apply by 

Board policy.  

Relieves all legal 

disabilities except return 

to public office. May be 

used as predicate. Ga. 

Code Ann. § 42-9-54; 

Morris v. Hartsfield, 197 

S.E. 251 (Ga. 1938). 

Frequent and Regular: 

Between 300-400 

pardons w/o gun rights; 

100 pardons w/ gun 

rights, several hundred 

“restoration of rights” 

(approx. 35% of 

applicants); immigration 

pardons. 

Deferred 

adjudication and 

'exoneration' for first 

offenders. Ga. Code. 

Ann. § 42-8-60 et 

seq. 

HI Governor decides, parole board 

may be consulted. Haw. Const., 

art. V, § 5; Haw. Rev. Stat. § 

353-72. 

No public hearing; parole boards 

interviews applicant, 

recommends to AG’s office, 

which conducts independent 

investigation and makes 

recommendation to governor.  

Process takes 8 months. Haw. 

Rev. Stat. § 353-72. 

No eligibility 

requirements. 

A pardon will state that 

the person has been 

rehabilitated, relieves 

legal disabilities and 

prohibitions.  No 

expungement, may be 

used as predicate. Haw. 

Rev. Stat. §§ 353-62, 

353-72. 

Sparing: Gov. Lingle 

granted 132 pardons in 8 

yrs., 55 in her last year 

(2010). About 50 

applications filed per 

year. 

Deferred 

adjudication and 

expungement; state 

FEP laws includes 

conviction. Haw. 

Rev. Stat. §§ 853-1; 

831-3. 

ID Independent board appointed 

by governor decides all but 

violent and drug offenses, 

which must be approved by 

governor. Idaho Const. art. IV, 

§ 7; Idaho Code Ann. §§ 20-

210, 20-240. 

Public hearing at regular 

intervals; reasons for each action 

must be filed with Secretary of 

State. Idaho Code §§ 20-210, 20-

240; see IDAPA § 50.01.01. 

Three years for non-

violent offenses, five 

years for violent. Idaho 

Code § 18-310(3). 

Relieves certain legal 

disabilities, including 

firearms. Idaho Code § 

18-310. 

Frequent and Regular: 

In recent years 10-20 

grants annually, from 25-

50% of applications 

filed. 

Deferred 

adjudication but no 

expungement; ex. 

for some juvenile 

offenses. Idaho 

Code § 19-2601 et 

seq. 
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State Type Of Administration Type Of Process 
Eligibility 

Requirements 
Effect Frequency of Grants 

Alternative 

Restoration  

IL Governor decides, although “the 

manner of applying therefore 

may be regulated by law.”  Ill. 

Const. art. V, § 12.    Prisoner 

Review Board authorized to 

provide advice to governor. 730 

Ill. Comp. Stat, Ann. 5/3-3-

1(a)(3). 

Public hearings at regular 

intervals before the 

Prisoner Review Board, 

which makes confidential 

recommendations to 

Governor. 730 Ill. Comp. 

Stat. 5/3-3-1 et seq. 

No eligibility 

requirements. 

Relieves legal disabilities; 

expungement may be 

authorized by the grant. 

People v. Glisson, 

358 N.E.2d 35 (Ill. App. 

Ct. 1976).  

Frequent and Regular: 

Between 2009 and April 

2014 Gov. Quinn granted 

1075 pardons, about half of 

those that applied.  Board 

hears 800 applications each 

year.   

Judicial certificates; 

sealing for certain 

misdemeanors and 

minor felonies. 730 Ill. 

Comp. Stat. 5/5-5.5-5 

et seq.; 20 Ill. Comp. 

Stat. 2630/5 et seq. 

IN Governor decides, “subject to 

such regulations as may be 

provided by law.” Ind. Const. 

art. 5, § 17. Parole board makes 

advisory recommendations to 

governor.  Ind. Const. art. 5, § 

17; Ind. Code §§ 11-9-2-1 to 11-

9-2-3.  Governor reports to 

legislature.  Ind. Const. art. 5, § 

17. 

Public hearing; parole 

board notifies victim, 

court, and DA; conducts 

investigation and holds 

hearing at which 

petitioner and other 

interested parties are may 

present their position. Ind. 

Code § 11-9 et. seq. 

Recent governors 

have required a 5-

year waiting period 

and evidence of 

rehabilitation.  15 

years for firearms 

restoration. 

Pardon wipes out both the 

punishment and the guilt, 

basis for expungement. 

Kelley v. State, 185 N.E. 

453 (Ind. 1933). See also 

State v. Bergman, 558 

N.E.2d 1111 (Ind. Ct. App. 

1990); Ind. Code § 35-47-

2-20(a); § 11-9-2-4. 

Sparing: Gov. Daniels: 

granted 62 pardons during 

his eight years in office, 

acting favorably on about 

half of those recommended 

by board. 

Expungement for most 

offenses; sealing for 

misdemeanors, Class 

D felonies, and 

nonconviction records. 

Ind. Code § 35-38-9;   

§ 10-13-3-27(a). 

IA Governor decides   “subject to 

such regulations as may be 

provided by law.”  Iowa Const. 

art. IV, § 16. Parole board 

authorized to provide advice. 

Iowa Code §§ 914.1-914.7.  , 

Governor reports to legislature 

on pardons issued and reasons.  

Iowa Const. art. IV, § 16. 

Paper review, no public 

hearing for pardon and 

restoration of rights. 

Separate firearms 

restoration procedure. 

Iowa Code § 914 et seq. 

10 years for 

pardon, 5 years for 

firearms; no 

waiting period for 

restoration of 

rights. Out-of-state 

and federal eligible 

for ROR. Iowa 

Code § 914.2. 

Pardon relieves of all legal 

disabilities (incl. public 

employment disabilities).  

See Slater v. Olson, 299 

N.W. 879 (Iowa 1941). 

Restoration of rights 

restores right to vote and 

hold public office, may 

also restore firearms rights. 

Frequent and Regular: 

Average of 35 full pardons 

each year between 2005 and 

2011 (fewer since 2009), 

with another 30-60 grants to 

restore civil rights and 

firearms privileges 

Restoration of gun 

rights by governor; 

Deferred adjudication 

and expungement for 

some first offenders. 

Iowa Code §§ 907.3; 

914.7 
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KS Governor decides, subject to 

regulations and restrictions by 

law.  Kan. Const. art. I, § 7.  The 

governor required to seek the 

advice of the prisoner review 

board, though not bound to 

follow it, Kan. Stat. Ann. § 22-

3701(4).  Reports to legislature 

on each pardon application but 

need not give reasons.  Kan. 

Stat. Ann. § 22-3703. 

Paper review. Applicant 

must publish a copy of the 

application in a newspaper 

in county of conviction at 

least 30 days before grant 

or pardon is void.  

Applicant must also 

provide notice of 

application to DA, judge 

and victim. Kan. Stat. Ann. 

§ 22-3701 et seq. 

No eligibility 

requirements, except that 

only Kansas state 

convictions are eligible to 

be pardoned or commuted. 

Kan. Stat. Ann. § 22-

3701. 

Pardon removes 

disabilities imposed 

under state law, but 

does not expunge 

conviction or lift bar to 

service as a law 

enforcement officer. 

Cf. Kan. Att’y Gen. 

Op. No. 85-165 (1985). 

May be used as 

predicate. 

Rare: Pardons very rare, 

primarily for miscarriage of 

justice 

Expungement for 

many felony 

offenses. Kan. Stat. 

Ann. § 21-4619 et 

seq. 

KY Governor decides, parole board 

may be consulted. Ky. Const. § 

77.  Governor may also restore 

rights of citizenship, office.  Id. 

§§ 145, 150.  Governor reports 

to legislature reasons for each 

grant.  Id. § 77. 

No public hearing.  Pardon 

applications sent directly to 

the governor with reasons 

for seeking relief and 

letters of recommendation.  

Simplified ROR process 

administered by DOC. Ky. 

Rev. Stat. Ann. § 439 et 

seq. 

For restoration of rights, 

expiration of sentence 

with no pending charges.  

For pardon 7-year waiting 

period.  Federal and out-

of-state offenders eligible 

for restoration of rights. 

Arnett v. Stumbo, 153 

S.W.2d 889 (1941). 

Restoration of 

citizenship restores a 

person’s right to vote 

and eligibility for jury 

service.  A full pardon 

relieves additional legal 

disabilities. May be 

used as predicate. Ky. 

Const. § 145(1). 

Rare: Pardons during term 

rare; ROR frequent 

Misdemeanor 

expungement. Ky. 

Rev. Stat. Ann. § 

431.078. 

LA “Upon favorable 

recommendation of the Board of 

Pardons,” the Governor may 

pardon “those convicted of 

offenses against the state.” La. 

Const. art. IV, § 5(E)(1); La. 

Rev. Stat. Ann. § 15:572(A).  

Regular public hearings, 

approval by four of five 

board members; DA and 

victim notified by board, 

and by applicant through 

publication of application 

in newspaper. La. Const. 

art. IV, § 5(E)(2); La. Rev. 

Stat. Ann. 15:572.1. 

Completion of sentence, 

plus payment of costs. La. 

Const. art. IV, § 5(E)(1); 

La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 

15:572(A); see Op. La. 

Att’y Gen. No. 04-0080 

(2005). 

Full pardon restores to 

"status of innocence," 

conviction cannot be 

used to enhance 

punishment.  State v. 

Riser, 30,201 (La. App. 

2 Cir. 12/12/97).  

Infrequent/uneven: In 4 

years, Gov. Jindal issued 36 

pardons and commuted one 

sentence in his first term.  

Previous governors granted 

331 (in 4 years) and 476 (in 

8 years). Edwin Edwards 

granted over 3,000 in 16 

years.  

Deferred 

adjudication and 

expungement. La. 

Const. art. IV, § 

5(E)(1); La. Rev. 

Stat. Ann. § 

15:572(B)(1). 
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State Type Of Administration Type Of Process 
Eligibility 

Requirements 
Effect Frequency of Grants 

Alternative 

Restoration  

ME Governor decides, subject to 

regulation “relative to the manner 

of applying.”  Non-statutory 

advisory scheme. Me. Const. art. 

V, pt. 1, § 11. 

Public hearings at regular intervals; 

board makes confidential 

recommendations to governor. 

Parole board conducts 

investigation. Applicant notifies 

DA, publishes notice of hearing in 

a newspaper 4 weeks beforehand. 

Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 34-A, § 

5210(4); tit. 15, § 2161. 

5 years following 

completion of sentence. 

Relieves legal 

disabilities. Me. 

Rev. Stat. Ann. 

tit. 16, §§ 611-622. 

Infrequent/uneven: As 

of April 2012, Gov. 

Lepage had granted no 

pardons.  Between 

2002 and 2010, 

Governor Baldacci 

granted 131 pardons, 

51 in his final year.  In 

past about 50 hearings 

each year, 25% result 

in pardon.  

No other relief 

provided 

MD Governor decides, parole board 

may be consulted. Md. Const. art. 

II, § 20; Md. Code Ann., 

Correctional Services § 7-

206(3)(ii).  Constitution requires 

governor to publish notice of 

intention to grant, and to report 

grants to legislature with reasons.  

Md. Const. art. II, § 20. 

Paper review by Parole 

Commission, whose 

recommendations to the governor 

are not binding. Md. Code Ann. § 

7-206(3)(ii). 

Felony convictions must 

have 10 crime-free years 

to be eligible (seven if 

Parole Commission 

waiver granted); 

misdemeanants must 

have 5 crime-free years.  

20-year wait for crimes 

of violence and drugs (or 

15 if waiver granted). 

Pardon lifts all 

disabilities and 

penalties imposed.  

Firearms privileges 

must be specifically 

restored in pardon 

document.  

Sparing: Governor 

O’Malley granted 105 

pardons in his first six 

years in office,    

Ehrlich (2003-2007) 

granted 228 pardons 

out of a total of 439 

applications.  

Probation before 

judgment and 

expungement. Md. 

Code Ann., Crim. 

Proc. § 6-220(b)(1); 

§ 10-105(a)(8). 
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MA Governor may not act without 

affirmative recommendation of 

Governor’s Council. Mass. Const. 

pt. 2, ch. II, sec. I, art. VIII. 

Governor must report to 

legislature annually with a list of 

pardons granted, but not required 

to give reasons. Mass. Gen. Laws 

ch. 127, § 152 (2011).   

Petitions filed with Parole Board, 

which recommends to Governor 

and Council.  Mass. Gen. Laws 

ch. 127, § 152 (2011).  Public 

hearing, referral to AG, DA, 

court, notice to victim.  120 Mass. 

Code Regs. 902.02-.12 (2011).  

Public report to governor and 

Council.  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 

127, § 154 (2011). 

15 years after 

conviction or release 

from prison for 

felonies, 10 years for 

misdemeanors. 

Governor’s Executive 

Clemency Guidelines 

(April 22, 2003) at 2.   

The governor, upon 

granting a pardon, orders 

the records of a state 

conviction sealed; 

thereafter, the records of 

the conviction may not 

be accessed by the 

public, and existence 

may be denied. Mass. 

Gen. Laws ch. 127, § 

152 (2011). May be used 

as predicate. 

Rare: Pardons 

infrequent since early 

1990s, none at all 

under Govs. Patrick 

and Romney. 

Sealing 

available for 

felonies after 5 

years, 

misdemeanors 

after 10. Mass. 

Gen. Laws ch. 

276, § 100A. 

MI Governor decides, parole board 

must be consulted but advice not 

binding. Mich. Const. Art. 5, § 

14; Mich. Comp. Laws §§ 

791.243, 791.244.  Must inform 

the legislature annually of 

pardons and reasons. Const. Art. 

5, § 14. 

All applications referred to the 

board; if board decides to hold 

hearing, relevant officials must be 

notified.  Recommendation of the 

board is a matter of public record.  

Mich. Comp. Laws § 791.244. 

No eligibility criteria Pardon “releases the 

punishment and blots 

out of existence the 

guilt, so that in the eye 

of the law the offender is 

as innocent as if he had 

never committed the 

offense.” People v. Van 

Heck, 651 N.W.2d 174, 

179 (Mich. App. 2002). 

Rare: Post-sentence 

pardons rare in recent 

years (only 34 pardons 

between 1969 and 

2006).  Gov. Granholm 

granted 20 pardons, 

100 commutations; as 

of September 2013 her 

successor had granted 

no pardons. 

First offender 

set-aside; 

probation 

before 

judgment for 

drug offenders. 

Mich. Comp. 

Laws § 

780.621l; § 

333.7411. 

MN Governor and high officials 

(attorney general, chief justice) 

act as board exercising power. 

Minn. Const. art. V, § 7. Board 

required to report to legislature by 

February 15 each year.  Minn. 

Stat.  § 638.075. 

Commissioner of corrections 

screens applications, decides 

which cases should be heard by 

board.  Minn. Stat. § 638.07.  

Public hearing, notice to officials 

and victim, decision announced at 

conclusion of hearing. 

For “pardon 

extraordinary,” 5 crime-

free years from final 

discharge for 

nonviolent crimes, or 

10 crime-free years 

from final discharge for 

“violent” offenses.  

Minn. Stat. §638.02. 

A “pardon 

extraordinary” restores 

all rights, including 

firearms rights, and has 

“the effect of setting 

aside and nullifying the 

conviction,” so that it 

need not be disclosed.  

Minn. Stat. § 638.02. 

Does not seal or 

expunge the record, may 

be used as predicate. 

Sparing: 10-25 

pardons each year, 

about half of those 

whose cases are heard. 

Many more apply than 

get hearings. 

Common law 

and (narrow) 

statutory 

expungement.  

Minn. Stat. § 

609A. 
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State Type Of Administration Type Of Process 
Eligibility 

Requirements 
Effect Frequency of Grants 

Alternative 

Restoration  

MS Governor decides, parole board may 

be consulted. Miss. Const. art. 5, § 

124.  Miss. Code Ann. § 47-7-5(3). 

Applicants publish notice 30 days 

before applying, stating reasons.  

Miss. Const. art. 5, § 124.  Facially 

meritorious cases sent to the parole 

board, which investigates and 

holds hearing. Board reports to 

Governor and legislature annually.  

Miss. Code Ann. § 47-7-15. 

Seven years 

since 

completion of 

sentence by 

governor’s 

office policy. 

Pardon restores civil 

rights and removes 

employment 

disabilities, gun 

restrictions, 

obligation to register.  

No expungement. 

Infrequent/uneven 
No regular process. 

Almost 200 post-

sentence pardons at 

end of Barbour’s term 

considered irregular 

and unusual. 

First misdemeanor and 

a few minor felony 

convictions may be 

expunged.  Miss. Code 

Ann. § 99-19-71. 

MO Governor grants reprieves and 

pardons, subject to rules and 

regulations prescribed for “the 

manner of applying.”  Mo. Const. art. 

IV, § 7.  Parole board must be 

consulted, but advice not binding. 

Mo. Rev. Stat. § 217.800.2. 

Applications referred to board for 

investigation and recommendation.  

See Mo. Rev. Stat. § 217.800.2.  

No provision for public hearing.  

Board meetings on clemency 

matters may be closed to public.  

Mo. Rev. Stat. § 217.670.5. 

If still in jail, 

apply at any 

time.  If out, 

eligible three 

years from 

discharge. 

Pardon “obliterates” 

conviction, relieves 

of all obligations 

associated with the 

conviction (including 

obligation to register 

as sex offender).  No 

predicate effect.  No 

expungement.  

Infrequent: Very few 

in recent years, 

although the number 

of applications has 

increased 

dramatically, in part 

because of extension 

of firearms restrictions 

to long guns in 2008. 

Bad check convictions, 

some public order 

misdemeanors, and 

first-time minor 

alcohol offenses may 

be expunged. Mo. Rev. 

Stat. §§ 610.140, § 

577.054(1).  Sealing of 

some cases sentenced 

to probation. § 

311.326. 

MT Governor may not act without 

affirmative recommendation of board 

of pardons and paroles, except in 

capital cases. Mont. Const. art. VI, § 

12; Mont. Code Ann. §§ 46-23-

104(1), 46-23-301(3). Must report 

grants to legislature including 

reasons.  Mont. Code Ann. § 46-23-

316. 

Board may hold a hearing in 

meritorious cases where all sides 

are heard and a record made, but is 

not required to do so.  See Mont. 

Code. Ann. § 46-23-302. 

No eligibility 

criteria. 

Pardon removes “all 

legal consequences” 

of conviction, 

including licensing 

bars, and is grounds 

for expungement. 

Infrequent: No 

pardons granted since 

2009.  Between 2005 

and 2009, 22 

individuals pardoned. 

Deferred adjudication 

and expungement.  

Mont. Code. Ann. § 

46-18-201. 
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NE Governor and high officials 

(secretary of state and attorney 

general) act as board of pardon 

which exercises power. Neb. 

Const. art. IV, § 13.  Governor 

chairs board.   

Public hearings held quarterly, 

victims notified. No reasons given. 

Board of Parole may advise the 

Board of Pardon “on the merits of 

any application . . . but such advice 

shall not be binding on them.” 

Neb. Const. art. IV, § 13. Process 

takes about one year. 

Informal rule of 

10 years 

following 

completion of 

sentence for 

felonies, 3 years 

for misdemeanors. 

Restores civil rights 

other than vote; gun 

rights must be separately 

restored.  Neb. Rev. Stat. 

§ 83-1,130. 

Frequent and Regular: 

Over 100 pardons granted 

each year between 2002 

and 2013, plus reprieves 

from driver’s license 

revocations. About 70% of 

grantees also regained 

firearms privileges. 50% of 

applicants are granted, 1/3 

misdemeanants. 

Set-aside for 

probationers, 

no sealing. 

NV Governor and high officials 

(justices of state supreme court, 

and attorney general) act as board 

exercising power. Nev. Const. art. 

5, § 14.  Governor must report to 

the legislature at the beginning of 

each session every clemency action 

(no reasons necessary).  Nev. 

Const. art. 5, § 13. 

Public hearings at regular intervals, 

at which applicant must attend; ex. 

non-violent first offenders may be 

considered on a paper record. 

County attorney, court and victim 

notified 30 days before hearing.  

Decision by majority (must include 

governor).  One-year process. Nev. 

Rev. Stat. §§ 213.010, 213.020. 

Variable, between 

five and twelve 

years from release 

from prison or 

discharge from 

parole.  Waivable 

with consent of a 

board member.  

Nev. Admin. 

Code § 213.065. 

Removes all disabilities, 

including gun disabilities 

and  licensing bars, but 

does not “erase 

conviction” and 

licensing boards may 

condition licensure on 

finding of good moral 

character. May serve as 

predicate. Nev. Rev. 

Stat. § 213.090. 

Frequent and Regular: 

An average of 20 grants 

each year since 2005, 

about half of those that 

apply. 

Sealing for 

most 

convictions 

after eligibility 

period of 7-15 

years. 

NH Governor acts upon the advice of 

the Executive Council. N.H. Const. 

pt. 2, art. 52.  Governor 

traditionally will not act without 

majority recommendation from 

Council. 

Notice to state’s attorney. N.H. 

Rev. Stat. Ann. § 4.21. Hearing at 

direction of Governor.  N.H. Rev. 

Stat. Ann. § 4.28. 

Persons eligible 

for “annulment” 

under N.H. Rev. 

Stat. Ann. § 651:5 

will generally not 

be considered for 

a pardon. 

A pardon eliminates all 

consequences of 

conviction, but it does 

not expunge record.  Doe 

v. State, 328 A.2d 784 

(N.H. 1974). 

Rare: The Attorney 

General’s office receives 

about 25 applications for 

clemency per year, but 

only two pardons and two 

sentence commutations 

since 1996. 

Annulment 

available for 

most felony 

convictions. 

N.H. Rev. Stat. 

Ann. § 651:5. 

NJ Governor decides, parole board 

may be consulted. N.J. Const. art. 

V, § 2, ¶ 1.  Governor must report 

annually to the legislature the 

particulars of each grant, with the 

reasons. N.J. Stat. Ann. § 2A:167-

3.1. 

The Governor may refer 

applications for pardon to the 

Parole Board for recommendation. 

N.J. Stat. Ann. § 2A:167-7, but the 

recommendation does not bind 

Governor. 

No eligibility 

criteria. 

Restores rights and make 

eligible for 

expungement.  In the 

Matter of the Petition of 

L.B., 848 A.2d 899, 900 

(N.J. Super. 2004). 

Infrequent: Recent 

governors have granted 

relatively few pardons, and 

generally only at end of 

their terms. 

First offender 

set-aside. N.J. 

Stat. Ann. §§ 

2C: 52-1–32. 
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State Type Of Administration Type Of Process 
Eligibility 

Requirements 
Effect Frequency of Grants 

Alternative 

Restoration  

NM Governor decides, (“[s]ubject to 

such regulations as may be 

prescribed by law”). N.M. Const. 

art. V, § 6.  Parole board may be 

consulted. N.M. Stat. Ann. § 31-

21-17. 

Governor may send application to 

parole board for investigation. 

N.M. Stat. Ann. § 31-21-17. Board 

seeks recommendation from 

attorney general, judge, 

prosecuting attorney, and/or the 

corrections secretary.  The victim 

must be notified. 

Completion of 

sentence (by 

statute).  Gov. 

guidelines require 

lengthy waiting 

periods depending 

on offense; no 

first degree 

felonies, DV or 

sex offenses, or 

multiple 

convictions. 

Restores rights of 

citizenship and relieves 

other legal disabilities 

under state law, but does 

not expunge records, or 

preclude use of 

conviction as predicate 

offense and to enhance 

subsequent sentence. 

Infrequent: Pardons 

granted only in 

“extraordinary 

circumstances.”  Relatively 

infrequent (Gov. Martinez 

has issued no pardons; 

Gov. Richardson issued 80 

pardons in 10 years). 

Expungement 

for first 

offender drug 

possession; 

deferred 

adjudication 

but conviction 

remains on 

record.  N.M. 

Stat. Ann § 30-

31-28. 

NY Governor decides, subject to 

regulation in “the manner of 

applying for pardons.” N.Y. Const. 

art. IV, § 4.Governor must report 

annually to legislature on pardons 

but not his reasons for granting 

them. Id. 

Board of Parole must advise the 

governor on clemency cases if 

requested.  N.Y. Exec. Law § 259-

c (8).  Absent exceptional or 

compelling circumstances, a 

pardon will not be considered if 

there is an adequate administrative 

remedy available. 

No eligibility 

criteria 

A pardon addresses 

unusual circumstances 

when adequate relief 

cannot be obtained by 

certificate; effect to 

“exempt from further 

punishment.”  May serve 

as predicate. 

Rare:  Governor Cuomo 

has granted only three 

pardons, two to avoid 

deportation.  Governor 

Paterson granted 33 

immigration pardons in 

2010. 

Certificates of 

relief from 

disabilities and 

certificates of 

good conduct. 

NC Governor’s power unlimited, 

subject only to regulation in the 

manner of applying.  N.C. Const. 

art. III, § 5(6).  Post Release 

Supervision and Parole 

Commission has authority to assist 

the Governor in exercising his 

power.  N.C. Gen. Stat. § 143B-

720(a). 

Applications must be submitted to 

the governor in writing, with 

statement of reasons.  Governor’s 

office of executive clemency 

(OEC) processes requests, oversees 

investigations by Parole 

Commission, and prepares reports.  

Victim may present a written 

statement.  N.C. Gen. Stat. § 15A-

838.  DA must also be notified. 

General waiting 

period of 5 years 

after completion 

of sentence, per 

executive policy. 

3 types of pardon: 

pardon of forgiveness 

(useful in seeking 

employment); pardon of 

innocence; and 

unconditional pardon 

(“granted primarily to 

restore an individual’s 

right to own or possess a 

firearm”). 

Rare: Pardons in recent 

years have been rare – only 

six pardons since 2001, all 

granted for innocence.  

Pardon applications 

average about 150 

annually. 

Minor 

nonviolent 

felonies and 

misdemeanors 

eligible for 

expungement 

after 15 years, 

N.C. Gen Stat. 

§ 15A-145.5. 
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ND Governor decides, N.D. Const. art. 

V, § 7, and may appoint a “pardon 

advisory board,” consisting of the 

state attorney general, two 

members of the parole board, and 

two citizens.  N.D. Cent. Code § 

12-55.1-02.  

No public hearing; board meets 

twice a year, applications must be 

filed 90 days in advance; DA 

notified. 

Inmates who are 

not eligible for 

parole can apply to 

the pardon board; 

as may non-

incarcerated 

offenders or others 

who demonstrate 

“compelling need.” 

Relieves collateral 

penalties, but no 

expungement; may 

serve as predicate. 

N.D. Cent. Code § 12-

55.1-01. 

Infrequent: Between 2005 

and 2009, 163 applications 

received but only six 

pardons granted. 

Deferred 

sentencing; 

reduction of 

minor felony 

offenses to 

misdemeanors. 

N.D. Cent 

Code § 12.1-

32-07. 

OH Governor decides in consultation 

with parole board. Must report to 

legislature details of each 

commutation and pardon granted, 

and reasons for each.  Ohio Const. 

art. III, § 11; Ohio Rev. Code Ann. 

§ 2967.07. 

Application to Parole Board, which 

conducts investigation. Ohio Rev. 

Code Ann. § 2967.07.  Prior notice 

to court, prosecutor, victim. Ohio 

Rev. Code Ann. § 2967.12. 

Meritorious cases may be granted a 

hearing, and a recommendation 

made to governor. 

Eligibility at any 

time. 

Pardon “erases” the 

conviction, and 

entitles recipient to 

have court records 

sealed. Ohio Rev. 

Code Ann. § 2967.04. 

Infrequent/uneven Gov. 

Kasich has granted 22 

pardons through 2013. 

Gov. Strickland granted 

290 pardons in four years, 

mostly to minor non-

violent offenses. 

First offender 

sealing. 

OK Governor decides, may not act 

without affirmative 

recommendation of board of 

pardons and parole. Okla. Const. 

art. VI, § 10.  The governor must 

report to the legislature on each 

grant at regular session, though not 

required to give reasons.  Id. 

Public hearings at regular intervals, 

but applicant generally does not 

appear; favorable recommendations 

announced publicly and sent to 

governor; no reasons given. Process 

generally takes about six months. 

Following 

completion of 

sentence or 5 years 

under supervision; 

misdemeanants 

eligible. 

Relieves legal 

disabilities, including 

firearms. Okla. Stat. 

tit. 21, § 1283A. 

Grounds for 

expungement for non-

violent first offenders 

10 years after 

conviction.  Okla. Stat. 

tit. 22, § 18. 

Frequent and Regular: 

About 100 pardon grants 

annually (80% of those that 

apply). 

Judicial 

sealing for first  

offender 

misdemeanant

s after 10 

years. Okla. 

Stat. tit. 22, § 

18. 

OR Governor decides with no 

provision for advice. Or. Const. art. 

V, § 14. Governor must report to 

the legislature each grant of 

clemency, including the reasons for 

the grant. Or. Rev. Stat. § 144.660. 

Applications filed with governor’s 

office, copy to DA and correctional 

officials; review by governor’s legal 

staff. By statute, governor may not 

act for 30 days after receipt of 

application.  Or. Rev. Stat. § 

144.650(4). 

Generally governor 

will not consider 

misdemeanors and 

minor felonies, for 

which set-aside is 

available. 

Relieves legal 

disabilities. 

Infrequent: Between 2005 

and January 2011, Gov. 

Kulongoski granted 20 

pardons out of several 

hundred applications. 

Set-aside for 

misdemeanor 

and minor 

felonies. Or. 

Rev. Stat. § 

137.225. 
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State Type Of Administration Type Of Process 
Eligibility 

Requirements 
Effect 

Frequency of 

Grants 

Alternative 

Restoration  

PA Governor decides, may not act 

without affirmative 

recommendation of pardon board 

chaired by lieutenant governor. Pa. 

Const. art. IV, § 9(a). 

Public hearings at regular 

intervals; notice published 

prior to hearing. 37 Pa. Cons. 

Stat. 81.233. Favorable 

recommendations are 

announced publicly and sent 

to governor; no reasons given. 

37 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 81.301. 

No eligibility 

requirements. 

Relieves all legal 

disabilities, including 

employment and 

licensing bars; provides 

grounds for 

expungement. 

Commonwealth v. C.S., 

534 A.2d 1053 (Pa. 

1987), 

Frequent and 

Regular: Of 500-

600 applications, 

Board recommends 

about 150 

favorably each 

year, most of 

which are granted; 

20% to 

misdemeanors and 

summary offenses.   

Expungement for 

“violations”; law 

prohibits 

discrimination in 

employment and 

licensing. 18 Pa. 

Cons. Stat. § 9124. 

RI Governor pardons “by and with the 

advice and consent of the senate.” 

R.I. Const. art. IX, § 13. 

No process specified. No requirements. Restores right to hold 

public office and lifts 

occupational and 

licensing bars. 

Rare: No pardon 

issued to a living 

person in ten years. 

First offender 

expungement after 

10 yrs for felonies, 5 

for misdemeanors. 

R.I. Gen. Laws § 12-

1.3-3. 

SC Independent board appointed by 

governor exercises pardon power 

except in capital cases (where 

governor retains power). S. C. 

Const. art. IV, § 14; S.C. Code 

Ann. § 24-21-920. 

Board required to hold 

hearings at least four times a 

year, and in recent years every 

two months, at which it is 

required to allow the applicant 

to appear. 

Following completion 

for sentence, or after 5 

years under supervision, 

payment of restitution in 

full; state offenders only. 

S.C. Code Ann. § 24-21-

950. 

Erases legal effect of 

conviction, including 

obligation to register and 

use as predicate. S.C. 

Code Ann. §§ 24-21-

990, 1000. Does not 

expunge, and conviction 

must be reported on 

applications. 

Frequent and 

Regular: Board 

issues 300-400 

grants per year, 

hearing about 80-

85 cases every two 

months; grants 60-

65% of applicants.  

Few 

misdemeanants. 

Various 

expungement 

authorities for minor 

offenses. 
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SD Governor decides, Board of 

Pardons and Paroles may be 

consulted. S.D. Const. Article IV, 

§ 3. Board must recommend 

pardon in order to obtain sealing 

relief. S.D. Codified Laws § 24-

14-11. 

Public hearings at regular 

intervals, recommendations 

sent to governor.  Applicant 

must notify DA and 

sentencing judge, and must 

publish notice of application 

in a newspaper once a week 

for three weeks.  Typically, six 

months to process a case. S.D. 

Codified Laws §§ 24-14-3, 4. 

Expedited procedure for 

misdemeanants implemented 

in 2014.  

No eligibility period 

except 5-year waiting 

period after release for 

first offenders to apply 

for “exceptional 

pardon.” S.D. Codified 

Laws § 24-14-8. 

Expedited process for 

misdemeanants requires 

waiting period of 5 and 

10 years.  

 

Persons released from all 

disabilities, including 

firearms if specified. 

Record sealed and 

conviction denied, unless 

pardon was issued by 

governor alone. S.D. 

Codified Laws § 24-14-

11. No predicate effect.  

Frequent and 

Regular: Between 60 

and 70 applications 

filed annually, about 

60% recommended to 

the governor, who 

grants most of those 

recommended. 

Deferred 

adjudication and 

judicial sealing 

for first 

offenders 

TN Governor has the power to 

pardon. Tenn. Const. art. III, § 6.  

Governor advised by the parole 

board. Tenn. Code Ann. § 40-28-

104. Must report grants and 

reasons to legislature “when 

requested.” 

Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 40-27-101, 

107.   

Public hearing and notice to 

prosecutor is required.  Board 

must send names of those it is 

recommending and those it is 

not to legislative committees.  

Governor must notify AG and 

DA before grant is made 

public; they notify victim.  

Tenn. Code Ann. § 40-27-110. 

Completion of sentence; 

additional period of good 

conduct and 

demonstration of 

rehabilitation and need. 

Pardon has limited legal 

effect, and does not 

restore civil or other 

rights, for which one 

must go to court. Tenn. 

Code. Ann. § 40-29-

105(c). 

Infrequent:  In 

January 2011, Gov. 

Bredesen granted 22 

pardons (“collected 

over his eight years in 

office”), 16 of which 

were recommended by 

the Board. 

Expungement of 

certain less 

serious non-

violent offenses 

after 5 yrs.    

Judicial 

restoration of 

rights.   

TX Governor decides, may not act 

without affirmative 

recommendation of Board of 

Pardons and Paroles. Tex. Const. 

art. IV, § 11(b). 

No public hearing, informal 

review process. 

Upon completion of 

sentence, including 

misdemeanants. Tex. 

Admin. Cod. §§ 143.2, 

143.10. First offender 

restoration  to federal 

and foreign offenders. 

Tex. Admin. Code § 

143.7. 

Restores civil rights, and 

removes barriers “to 

some, but not all, types 

of employment and 

professional licensing.”  

Basis for expungement. 

Predicate effect. 

Sparing: Eight to ten 

pardons annually most 

years since 2001, and 

1/3 of those 

recommended. 200 

applications are 

received annually. 

Expungement of 

pardoned 

convictions; 

deferred 

adjudication and 

nondisclosure. 
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State Type Of Administration Type Of Process 
Eligibility 

Requirements 
Effect Frequency of Grants 

Alternative 

Restoration  

UT Independent board appointed by 

the governor. Utah Const. art. VII, 

§ 12; Utah Code Ann. § 77-27-

5(1). 

Public hearing at regular 

intervals, notice to DA and 

victim, majority vote, with 

reasons given. Utah Code 

Ann. § 77-27-5(2). 

Five years after 

expiration of sentence; 

offenses for which 

expungement not 

available. Utah Admin 

Code r. 671-315. 

Restores civil 

rights. 

Infrequent: Board receives 

only three to five requests for 

pardon a year, and only about 

10 pardons have been granted 

in the past decade (availability 

of expungement makes less 

necessary). 

Expungement for 

many offenses. 

VT Governor decides, parole board 

may be consulted. Vt. Const. ch. II, 

§ 20. 

No hearing; parole board 

investigates and recommends. 

Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 28, § 453. 

Generally 10 years, 

must show 

rehabilitation and 

employment-related 

need, benefit to 

society. 

Restores rights, 

relieves 

disabilities, 

including 

firearms. 

Infrequent:  Governor 

Shumlin has granted only two 

pardons since taking office in 

2011.  In his nearly 8 years in 

office (2003-2011), Governor 

Douglas granted thirteen 

pardons, fewer than two a year. 

Deferred 

adjudication and 

expungement. 

VA Governor decides, parole board 

may be consulted. Va. Const. art. 

V, § 12.  Constitution also requires 

governor to make annual report to 

the legislature setting forth “the 

particulars of every case” of pardon 

or commutation granted, with 

reasons. Id. 

No hearing, paper review by 

parole board. Restoration of 

rights applications processed 

in 60-days by Secretary of the 

Commonwealth. 

5-yr eligibility waiting 

period for restoration 

of rights after violent 

or drug crime, 2-yr for 

non-violent crime; 

ROR available for 

out-of-state and 

federal offenders. 

“Simple” pardon 

does not expunge 

the record, but 

helps with 

employment, 

education, and 

self-esteem. No 

expungement, has 

predicate effect. 

Sparing: Gov. McConnell has 

restored rights generously, but 

through August 2013 had 

pardoned only seven 

individuals.  He also commuted 

two sentences retroactively to 

avoid deportation. Governor 

Kaine pardoned 108 individuals 

in his four years in office.  

Deferred 

adjudication but 

no expungement; 

judicial 

restoration of 

firearms. 

WA Governor decides “under such 

regulations and restrictions as may 

be prescribed by law.” Wash. 

Const. art. III, §§ 9. Clemency 

board may be consulted. Wash. 

Rev. Code §§ 9.94A.885 (1), 

10.01.120. Governor reports to 

legislature with reasons. Wash. 

Const. art. III, § 11. 

Public hearing, DA and 

victims must be notified. 

Wash. Rev. Code § 9.94A.885 

(3). 

None Vacates 

conviction, 

relieves all legal 

disabilities; 

conviction need 

not be reported, no 

predicate effect. 

Wash. Rev. Code 

§ 994A.030 

(11)(b). 

Sparing: About 35 petitions 

each year, 8-10 of which go to 

hearing.  From 2006 through 

January 2011, Gov. Gregoire 

granted 27 pardons, two 

conditional, and two to avoid 

deportation. 

Judicial vacatur 

for most 

convictions; 

separate firearms 

restoration 

procedure. 
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WV Governor decides, may seek 

advice from parole board. W. Va. 

Const. art. 7, § 11; W. Va. Code § 

5-1-16. Governor reports facts of 

grants with reasons.  W. Va. 

Const. art. 7, § 11; W. Va. Code § 

5-1-16.  

No public hearing; board must 

notify DA and  judge 10 days 

before making 

recommendation to governor. 

As a matter of policy, 

governor always seeks 

recommendation from board. 

None Lifts most legal 

barriers, but does 

not restore 

firearms rights. 

Perito v. County 

of Brooke, 597 SE 

2d 311, 321 (W. 

Va. 2004). May 

be given predicate 

effect. 

Rare: Governor receives from 

50-100 applications each year, 

but pardon grants are rare (only 

121 in 36 years, by nine 

governors). 

Misdemeanor 

first offender 

expungements. 

WI Governor decides under a non-

statutory pardon advisory board.  

Wis. Const. art. V, § 6. Governor 

must communicate annually with 

legislature each case of clemency 

and the reasons.  Wis. Const. art. 

V, § 6. 

Public hearings at regular 

intervals for those applicants 

that show “a demonstrated 

need for a pardon.” Applicant 

must publish notice in county 

paper or on courthouse door, 

and deliver to DA, judge and 

victim. Wis. Stat. §§ 304.09–

.10. 

Five-year eligibility 

waiting period; 

misdemeanants 

ineligible unless 

waiver granted. 

Relieves legal 

disabilities and 

signals 

rehabilitation, but 

does not expunge 

or seal the 

conviction. May 

be given predicate 

effect. 

Infrequent/uneven: Governor 

Walker has granted no pardons 

to date, and has stated an intent 

to accept no applications.  Gov. 

Doyle granted 293 pardons 

overall, 176 in his final year, 

mainly for dated minor offenses, 

representing 15% of applicants, 

all with Board recommendation. 

Few misdemeanants. 

Expungement or 

sealing of certain 

adult 

misdemeanor 

convictions. Wis. 

Stat. § 973.015. 

WY Governor decides, subject to 

legislative controls on the manner 

of applying.  Wyo. Const. art. 4, § 

5.  Governor must report every 

two years to legislature on grants, 

with the reasons for each one. Id. 

Statutory application process 

involves review by governor’s 

staff.  Process takes 4-6 

weeks. Notice to DA three 

weeks prior to acting, and DA 

must provide details of 

offense. Wyo. Stat. Ann. § 7-

13-801 et seq. 

10 years after 

sentence for pardon, 

5 years for restoration 

of rights. Excludes 

sex offenses. 

Relieves legal 

disabilities but 

does not expunge.  

Maybe given 

predicate effect. 

Sparing: Current governor has 

issued no pardons.  From 2005 to 

2010, 22 pardons and 28 

restorations of rights (25% of 

applications filed). 

Governor also 

grants restoration 

of rights upon 

recommendation 

of parole board. 

Federal and state 

offenders 

eligible. 

FD President decides under a non-

statutory advisory scheme.  U.S. 

Const. art. II, § 2; 28 CFR Part 1.  

No reporting requirement, no 

notice. 

Informal process described in 

28 C.F.R. Part 1 and United 

States Attorneys Manual. No 

time limit, and applications 

may remain pending for years. 

5 years after sentence 

or release from 

confinement. 28 

C.F.R. § 1.2. 

Generally not eligible 

if on parole. Id. 

Relieves legal 

disabilities 

signifies 

rehabilitation.  

Does not 

expunge, has 

predicate effect. 

Sparing: Only about 10-15 

pardons per year over the past 

twenty years, representing less 

than 5% of those who apply. 

President Obama has issued only 

52 pardons in five years and 

denied more than 1300 

applications with more than 800 

awaiting decision.    

None 
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