Members of the Alaska Judicial Council 510 L Street, Ste 450 Anchorage, AK 99501

Council Members	Appointment Effective Date	Expiration Date
Chief Justice Peter J. Maassen	02/07/23	02/07/26
Geraldine Simon (Attorney Member)	02/24/18	02/23/24
Dave Parker (Public Member)	03/01/19	03/01/25
Jonathon A. Katcher (Attorney Member)	02/24/20	02/23/26
Kristie Babcock (Public Member)	03/01/21	03/01/27
Patricia A. Collins (Attorney Member)	02/24/22	02/23/28
Dennis DeWitt (Public Member)	03/31/23	03/01/29

Judicial Council attorney and public members serve terms of six years. The Chief Justice serves a three-year term.

Historical Roster of Alaska Judicial Council Members					
Council Member Name	Residence	Appointment Effective Date	Expiration Date		
Chairperson ¹					
Chief Justice Buell A. Nesbett	Anchorage	11/29/59	06/18/70		
Chief Justice George F. Boney	Anchorage	06/18/70	11/16/72		
Chief Justice Jay A. Rabinowitz	Fairbanks	11/16/72	11/16/75		
Chief Justice Robert Boochever	Juneau	11/16/75	11/16/78		
Chief Justice Jay A. Rabinowitz	Fairbanks	11/16/78	11/16/81		
Chief Justice Edmond W. Burke	Anchorage	11/16/81	09/30/84		
Chief Justice Jay A. Rabinowitz	Fairbanks	10/01/84	09/30/87		
Chief Justice Warren W. Matthews	Anchorage	10/01/87	09/30/90		
Chief Justice Jay A. Rabinowitz ³	Fairbanks	10/01/90	09/30/92		
Chief Justice Daniel A. Moore, Jr.	Anchorage	10/01/92	09/30/95		
Chief Justice Allen T. Compton ³	Anchorage	10/01/95	07/01/97		
Chief Justice Warren W. Matthews	Anchorage	07/02/97	06/30/00		
Chief Justice Dana Fabe	Anchorage	07/01/00	06/30/03		
Chief Justice Alexander O. Bryner	Anchorage	07/01/03	06/30/06		
Chief Justice Dana Fabe	Anchorage	07/01/06	06/30/09		
Chief Justice Walter L. Carpeneti	Juneau	07/01/09	06/30/12		
Chief Justice Dana Fabe	Anchorage	07/01/12	06/30/15		
Chief Justice Craig Stowers	Anchorage	07/01/15	06/30/18		
Chief Justice Joel H. Bolger	Anchorage	07/01/18	06/30/21		
Chief Justice Daniel E. Winfree	Fairbanks	07/01/21	02/06/23		
Chief Justice Peter J. Maassen	Anchorage	02/07/23	02/07/26		
Atto	rney Members				
E.E. Bailey ²	Ketchikan	02/24/59	02/24/62		
E.E. Bailey	Ketchikan	02/24/62	02/24/68		
Frank M. Doogan ³	Juneau	10/15/68	04/73		
Michael L. Holmes ⁴	Juneau	05/73	02/24/74		
Michael L. Holmes	Juneau	02/24/74	02/24/80		
Walter L. Carpeneti ⁵	Juneau	02/24/80	02/81		
James B. Bradley ⁴	Juneau	04/81	02/24/86		
William T. Council	Juneau	02/24/86	02/24/92		
Thomas G. Nave	Juneau	02/24/92	02/23/98		
Geoffrey G. Currall	Ketchikan	02/24/98	02/23/04		
Douglas Baily ³	Juneau	04/27/04	07/18/07		
Louis James Menendez ⁴	Juneau	07/19/07	02/23/10		
Julie Willoughby	Juneau	04/27/10	02/23/16		
Galen Paine	Sitka	02/24/16	02/23/22		
Patricia A. Collins	Juneau	02/24/22	02/23/28		

Historical Roster of Alaska Judicial Council Members - continued				
Council Member Name	Residence	Appointment Effective Date	Expiration Date	
Attorney	Members - continu	ed		
Robert A. Parrish ²	Fairbanks	02/24/59	02/24/64	
William V. Boggess⁵	Fairbanks	02/24/64	04/64	
Michael Stepovich ⁴	Fairbanks	05/64	02/24/70	
Michael Stepovich	Fairbanks	02/24/70	02/24/76	
Michael Stepovich ³	Fairbanks	02/24/76	08/78	
Marcus R. Clapp⁴	Fairbanks	08/78	02/24/82	
Mary E. Greene ³	Fairbanks	02/24/82	04/82	
Barbara L. Schuhmann ⁴	Fairbanks	07/82	02/24/88	
Daniel L. Callahan	Fairbanks	02/24/88	02/24/94	
Christopher E. Zimmerman⁵	Fairbanks	04/14/94	07/17/97	
Paul J. Ewers	Fairbanks	07/18/97	02/23/00	
Robert B. Groseclose	Fairbanks	04/05/00	02/23/06	
James H. Cannon	Fairbanks	02/24/06	02/23/12	
Aimee Oravec	Fairbanks	04/10/12	02/23/18	
Geraldine Simon	Fairbanks	02/24/18	02/23/24	
Raymond E. Plummer ^{2,3}	Anchorage	02/24/59	09/26/61	
Harold Butcher⁴	Anchorage	11/61	02/24/66	
George F. Boney⁵	Anchorage	02/24/66	09/68	
Lester W. Miller, Jr.4	Anchorage	10/15/68	02/24/72	
Eugene F. Wiles ³	Anchorage	02/24/72	03/75	
Joseph L. Young ⁴	Anchorage	04/75	02/24/78	
Joseph L. Young	Anchorage	02/24/78	02/24/84	
James D. Gilmore	Anchorage	02/24/84	02/24/90	
Mark E. Ashburn	Anchorage	03/23/90	02/23/96	
Robert H. Wagstaff	Anchorage	03/22/96	02/23/02	
Susan Orlansky	Anchorage	03/14/02	02/27/08	
Kevin Fitzgerald	Anchorage	04/28/08	02/23/14	
James E. Torgerson	Anchorage	02/24/14	02/23/20	
Jonathon A. Katcher	Anchorage	02/24/20	02/23/26	
Non-A	ttorney Members			
Elmo LeRoy "Roy" J. Walker ²	Fairbanks	05/18/59	05/18/61	
John Cross	Kotzebue	05/18/61	05/18/67	
Thomas K. Downes ³	Fairbanks	05/18/67	Mid-1968	
V. Paul Gavora ⁴	Fairbanks	10/15/68	05/18/73	
Thomas J. Miklautsch³	Fairbanks	05/28/73	12/10/74	
Robert H. Moss ⁴	Homer	12/10/74	05/18/79	
Robert H. Moss	Homer	05/18/79	05/18/85	
Dr. Hilbert J. Henrickson	Ketchikan	08/13/85	05/18/91	
David A. Dapcevich	Sitka	05/19/91	05/18/97	
Mary Matthews ³	Fairbanks	05/19/97	08/23/98	
Sandra Stringer⁴	Fairbanks	08/24/98	07/12/99	
Katie Hurley	Wasilla	07/13/99	05/18/03	
Bill Gordon	Fairbanks	05/19/03	03/01/09	
Kathleen Tompkins-Miller	Fairbanks	03/01/09	03/01/15	
Loretta Bullard	Nome	10/06/15	03/01/21	
Kristie Babcock	Soldotna	03/01/21	03/01/27	

Historical Roster of Alaska Judicial Council Members - continued				
Council Member Name	Residence	Appointment Effective Date	Expiration Date	
Non-Attorne	y Members - contin	nued		
Jack E. Werner ²	Seward	05/18/59	05/18/63	
Jack E. Werner	Seward	05/18/63	05/18/69	
Ken Brady	Anchorage	06/28/69	05/18/75	
Ken Brady	Anchorage	05/18/75	05/18/81	
Mary Jane Fate	Fairbanks	05/18/81	05/18/87	
Leona Okakok	Barrow	07/31/87	05/18/93	
Janice Lienhart	Anchorage	05/19/93	05/18/99	
Gigi Pilcher	Ketchikan	03/21/00	05/18/05	
Christena Williams	Ketchikan	05/19/05	03/01/11	
Donald Haase ³	Valdez	03/01/11	04/07/11	
Ken Kreitzer	Juneau	07/29/11	03/01/17	
Lynne Gallant	Anchorage	03/01/17	03/01/23	
Dennis DeWitt	Juneau	03/31/23	03/01/29	
Dr. William M. Whitehead ^{2,3}	Juneau	05/18/59	12/06/62	
Charles W. Kidd ^{3,4}	Juneau	04/63	01/64	
H. Douglas Gray ⁴	Juneau	04/64	05/18/65	
H.O. Smith ⁶	Ketchikan	05/18/65	06/65	
Pete Meland ⁴	Sitka	01/66	05/18/71	
Oral Freeman ³	Ketchikan	11/22/71	01/73	
Lew M. Williams, Jr.4	Ketchikan	04/73	05/18/77	
John Longworth	Petersburg	05/18/77	05/18/83	
Renee Murray	Anchorage	08/08/83	05/18/89	
Janis Roller ³	Anchorage	09/01/89	02/14/91	
Dr. Paul Dittrich, M.D. ^{3,4}	Anchorage	04/06/91	10/03/91	
Jim A. Arnesen ⁴	Anchorage	10/04/91	05/18/95	
Vicki A. Otte ³	Juneau	05/31/95	11/21/00	
Eleanor Andrews ⁴	Anchorage	11/15/00	05/18/01	
Eleanor Andrews	Anchorage	05/18/01	03/01/07	
Charles M. Kopp ³	Kenai	03/02/07	07/13/08	
William F. Clarke ⁴	Chugiak	10/16/08	03/01/13	
Dave Parker	Wasilla	03/01/13	03/01/19	
Dave Parker	Wasilla	03/01/19	03/01/26	

Notes

¹ The Judicial Council initially submitted nominations for the position of Chief Justice; the Constitution did not limit the Chief Justice's term. Chief Justice Nesbett and Chief Justice Boney were nominated and appointed in this manner. Voters amended the Constitution on August 25, 1970 to provide for the election of the Chief Justice by the justices of the Supreme Court for a three-year term; the amendment further provided that a Chief Justice may not be re-elected to consecutive terms.

² Appointed to initial staggered term.

³ Resigned during term.

⁴ Appointed to complete unexpired term.

⁵ Resigned during term to apply for judicial office.

⁶ Denied legislative confirmation.