About the Council

The Alaska Judicial Council is an independent citizens' commission created by the Alaska Constitution. The Council screens applicants for judicial vacancies and nominates the most qualified applicants for appointment by the governor, evaluates the performance of judges and recommends whether voters should retain judges for another term, and conducts research to improve the administration of justice in Alaska.

Alaska Constitution Article IV, Section 8 provides that the Judicial Council has seven members. Three must be attorneys appointed by the Alaska Bar Association. Three cannot be attorneys and are appointed by the governor subject to confirmation by the legislature. These appointments are for staggered six year terms, must be spread over different areas of the state, and must be made without regard to political affiliation. The chief justice of the supreme court is the Council's seventh member and chairperson.

Location and Contact Information

510 L Street, Ste 450

Anchorage, Alaska 99501

Phone (907) 279-2526

FAX (907) 276-5046

Contact Us

AJC Staff:

Susanne DiPietro
Executive Director

Susie Dosik
Administrative Attorney

Teri Carns
Special Projects Coordinator

Jessicah Mathes
Administrative/Fiscal Officer

Emily Marrs
Executive Secretary III

Sonja Davis-Wade
Administrative Assistant II

Criminal Justice Commission:

Barbara Dunham
Project Attorney

Brian Brossmer
Research Analyst III

Staci Corey
Research Analyst III