2018 Retention Election

2018 Retention Judge Documents

The Alaska Judicial Council recommends that Alaskans vote "YES" to retain 15 judges eligible to appear on the ballot in 2018. The following information explains the results of the Council's evaluation process for the 15 retention judges.

Alaska Bar Members Survey Technical Report pdf icon
Peace and Probation Officers Survey Technical Report pdf icon
Court Employee Survey Technical Report pdf icon 
Juror Survey Memo pdf icon
Peremptory Challenge Rates pdf icon
Recusal Rates pdf icon
Appellate Affirmance Rates pdf icon
Salary Withholding pdf icon

Press Releases

August 20, 2018 - Council Recommendations to Voters pdf icon
June 22, 2018 - Public Meeting and Vote pdf icon
May 16
, 2018  - Public Hearing pdf icon

Prior Meetings and Hearings

Public Hearing  - May 22, 2018 @ 4:30 p.m. 
Council Meeting and Public Vote - June 29, 2018 @ 9:00 a.m.

2018 Retention Judges

First Judicial District

William B. Carey pdf icon - Ketchikan Superior Court
Kevin G. Miller pdf icon - Ketchikan District Court
Kirsten Swanson pdf icon  - Juneau District Court

Third Judicial District

Michael D. Corey pdf icon - Anchorage Superior Court
William F. Morse pdf icon - Anchorage Superior Court
Herman G. Walker, Jr. pdf icon - Anchorage Superior Court
Michael L. Wolverton pdf icon - Anchorage Superior Court
Jo-Ann M. Chung pdf icon - Anchorage District Court
Brian K. Clark pdf icon - Anchorage District Court
Sharon A.S. Illsley pdf icon - Kenai District Court
William L. Estelle pdf icon - Palmer District Court
John W. Wolfe pdf icon - Palmer District Court

Fourth Judicial District

Paul R. Lyle pdf icon - Fairbanks Superior Court
Michael P. McConahy pdf icon  - Fairbanks Superior Court
Benjamin A. Seekins pdf icon - Fairbanks District Court